Maine Senate Republicans

Senate Republican Caucus of the 126th Legislature

Senator Doug Thomas

District 27
306 Stream Road
Ripley, ME 04930

Phone: (207) 277-3017
Email: Sen. Doug Thomas

When the Legislature is in session, you can leave a message for Senator Doug Thomas by calling the office at: (207) 287-1505.

Legislative Aide
Rob Caverly

Senator Doug Thomas


Senator Doug Thomas was reelected by the people of District 27 on November 6, 2012 to represent them in the Maine State Senate.  District 27 includes the Penobscot County communities of Chester, East Millinocket, Medway, Millinocket, Mount Chase, North Penobscot, Patten, Seboeis, Stacyville,  and Woodville.  It also includes all communities in Piscataquis County and the Somerset County communities of Cambridge, Harmony, Hartland, Palmyra, Ripley, and Saint Albans.

Before being elected to the Senate, Thomas represented the towns of Athens, Harmony, Ripley, Dexter, Garland and Charleston in the Maine House of Representatives.

Prior to his election to the Maine House, Thomas served as a selectman in his hometown of Ripley and on the School Administrative 46 Board of Directors.

Thomas served on the Transportation Committee for six years, which has jurisdiction over the Department of Transportation, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, motor vehicle registration and license plates, driver's licenses and the Maine Turnpike Authority. It also oversees highway and bridge construction and maintenance. He also served on the Labor Committee for two years.

Thomas also received the National Federation of Independent Business Guardian of Small Business Award, and a Certificate of Excellence from the Maine Economic Research Institute.

In the 125th Legislature, Senator Thomas served as chairman of the State and Local Government Committee and as a member of the Transportation Committee.

Senate District 27 Map