AUGUSTA – Senate President Michael Thibodeau (R-Waldo) has announced that Senator Ron Collins (R-York) will serve as chair of the Maine Legislature’s Transportation Committee during the 127th Legislature.

Senator Collins is serving his third term in the Maine Senate and was previously a member of the Maine House of Representatives.

“I am proud of the work we have done on the Transportation Committee and look forward to being chair,” Senator Collins said. “Over the past few years, we have made remarkable progress in upgrading Maine’s roads and bridges, but that work is never done. Maintaining our infrastructure is key to making Maine’s economy strong.”

Assistant Senate Majority Leader Andre Cushing (R-Penobscot) said, “It is reassuring to know that Senator Collins will once again be on the Transportation Committee and serving as its chair for the next two years. With his fiscal discipline, Ron has been a leader in prioritizing work on our highway system and secondary roads, and staying on budget. I expect that to continue during the 127th Legislature with his leadership.

In addition to the Transportation Committee, Senator Collins will also be a member of the Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee.

Senator Ron Collins represents Maine Senate District 34 which includes communities in York County.